RSS

Can not add the user because a user with that name already exists – SharePoint Portal Server 2003 WSS 2.0

08 Sep

If you receive this message it’s usually because a user in your organization is deleted, and re-created using the same domain and same account name.  This may have been because of a user was deleted by accident, or a previous employee who left your organization and was then rehired. 

For example, my account in the “NA” domain with the same account name of john.smith (NA\john.smith). The account was deleted and re-created with the same account name (NA\john.smith).

Because SharePoint stores SID information with the user in it’s tables, the account will no longer work until you either

1) Remove the user completely and re-add, or

2) Use the STSADM -o migrateuser command

You can try removing the user from the Site Settings, Site Administration, Manage Users section but it they are not listed you need to use this migrate user command from the BIN directory of your SharePoint server:

STSADM -o migrateuser -oldlogin na\john.smith -newlogin na\john.smith -ignoresidhistory

You should get an “Operation completed successfully” message and then be able to add them to your Site.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2010 in SharePoint Common Issues

 

3 responses to “Can not add the user because a user with that name already exists – SharePoint Portal Server 2003 WSS 2.0

  1. Автопортал

    December 26, 2011 at 4:52 AM

    Wonderful publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector don’t realize this. You must continue your writing. I am sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!|What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & assist other customers like its helped me. Great job.

     
  2. Robin

    April 24, 2012 at 9:29 AM

    very helpful this fixed my issue! the user was not on the site anymore but i was still not able to add him and got that error message. On MS documentation and forums they offered no solution.
    THANKS

     
  3. debt negotiation lead

    April 27, 2013 at 4:58 AM

    Good day I am so grateful I found your website, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a
    all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb job.

     

Leave a Reply

 
